Australia Tour of India 2023: As India name T20 star in squad for Aussie Tests

We examine the crucial statistics in Tests between the two countries before of their highly anticipated four-match ICC World Test Championship matchup.

India will host a four-match Test series between Australia and India, who are presently ranked No. 1 and No. 2 in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s Test Team Rankings and the current cycle of the ICC World Test Championship 2023, respectively.

Between February 9 and February 13, Nagpur will host the maiden Test match.

Between 1947–1948 and 1991–1992, the two nations played 50 Tests in 12 series, and the trophy was named in honour of the two icons Sunil Gavaskar and Allan Border. In 1996–1997, India and Australia competed for the Border–Gavaskar Trophy for the first time.

India currently holds the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after winning the 2020–21 series played in Australia T20 star.

They have selected a capable lineup for the forthcoming series in India, where the hosts hope to make history by winning four straight Test series against their rivals.

Teams for the series in 2023

The following players will represent India in the first two Test matches against Australia: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mo

Pat Cummins (captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner make up Australia’s Test squad for the upcoming tour of India.

results of the series to date Since their first encounter in 1947–1948, India and Australia have participated in 27 Test series. Australia has the most series with 12

In 14 Test series that India has hosted, India has an 8-4 advantage over Australia, with two of the series ending in ties.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been the subject of eight of these Test series in India; throughout that time, the hosts enjoy a 7-1 series advantage and have a 16-5 win-loss record in the 25 Tests played at home.

Australia’s lone series victory in India during that time period was in 2004–05, by a score of 2-1, with Adam Gilchrist serving as captain while Ricky Ponting was out due to injury. In the four-match series, Australia won two of the first three Test matches. The last three Test series between the two teams were won by India: at home in 2016–17 and away in 2018–19 and 2020–21.

Consider the last occasion.

It’s possible to argue that the final Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, which was contested in Australia in 2020–21, was the best ever. India notoriously lost by eight wickets after being bowled out for 36 in the second innings of the first pink-ball Test of the series in Adelaide, and with skipper Virat Kohli taking paternity leave and going back home, the team didn’t have much of an opportunity to turn the series around.

Ajinkya Rahane, the stand-in skipper, scored a wonderful first-innings hundred to lead the visitors to a resounding eight-wicket victory, but what came next was a spectacular reaction in Melbourne.

In a tense draw in Sydney to decide the match, Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Hanuma Vihari all played key roles.

Numerous of India’s top players were injured heading into the fourth Test, and Mohammed Siraj was the most seasoned bowler in an attack that also featured T Natarajan and Washington Sundar making their Test debuts.

After the first two innings of the Test, Sundar and Shardul Thakur struck resolute fiftys to lead India’s comeback and keep the score even, and Siraj claimed his first Test five-for in the second innings to set up a nail-biting final day.

Shubman Gill, Pant, and Pujara lead India as they chase down the 328-run mark with three wickets still to spare, handing Australia their first Test loss at the Gabba in an incredible 32 years and concluding an epic series victory.

While India’s most recent Test assignment was their 2-0 clean sweep on the Bangladesh tour in December, Australia recently won Test series against the West Indies and South Africa.

Australia is now leading the ICC World Test Championship rankings with a points percentage of 75.56, and they are well-positioned to compete in the WTC Final, which will take place at The Oval later this year.

Sri Lanka is in third position with 53.33 percent, closely followed by South Africa in fourth with 48.72 percent, while India is in second place with 58.93 percent.

Australia is in a good position to go to the WTC Final regardless of how the series against India turns out.

To have a chance of competing in the WTC Final, India must perform well in the forthcoming series, ideally to avoid a series loss and having to rely on New Zealand to defeat Sri Lanka in their two-match series in March.India would achieve a points percentage of 68.06 with a 4-0 series victory, which is   probably sufficient for a key top-two finish in the WTC rankings.

With 3630 runs at an average of 55 and 11 tonnes, Sachin Tendulkar tops the list of Test match run scorers for India vs. Australia. Ricky Ponting is second with 2555 runs at an average of 54.36 and eight hundred. Among current players, Cheteshwar Pujara (1893 runs at 54.08) is in first place, followed by Steve Smith (1742 at 72.58) and Virat Kohli (1682 at 48.05).

Best individual performance

The greatest individual score between the teams in a Test was recorded by Michael Clarke in the 2012 New Year’s Test in Sydney (329*), followed by VVS Laxman’s historic 281 at the Eden Gardens in 2001.

Numerous wickets

With 111 wickets at an average of 30.32, former India captain Anil Kumble leads all wicket-takers in Test matches against Australia. Harbhajan Singh is second (95 wickets at 29.85).

The next best bowler is Nathan Lyon, who has 94 wickets at an average of 34.75. He might overtake the top two bowlers with another significant series in India.

optimum bowling

The greatest score in an innings between India and Australia is 9/69 by Jasubhai Patel in Kanpur in 1959, followed by 8/50 by Nathan Lyon in Bangalore in 2017 and 8/84 by Harbhajan Singh in Chennai in 2001.

In matches between the teams, Jason Krejza (8/215), Kapil Dev (8/106), and Anil Kumble (8/141) have all taken an amazing eight wickets each. The greatest bowling statistics in a game were recorded by Harbhajan in the Chennai Test in 2001 over the course of two innings (15/217).